Skip to content

edgeX V1 contract frozen — trading had moved to V2 — 2026-08-14. edgeX's original V1 deployment — a StarkEx Validium on Ethereum, whose critical contracts L2BEAT rates as upgradeable by a single externally-owned account, with no window for users to exit before an unwanted upgrade, and which has an address with unverified source code — froze on 2026-08-14, per L2BEAT, after a forced withdrawal on Ethereum went unprocessed for seven days. L2BEAT describes it as a planned sunset: trading had already moved to edgeX V2 on EDGE Chain in May 2026. L2BEAT's change log records that contract's isFrozen value flipping from false to true, and an on-chain read of the V1 StarkPerpetual contract (0xfAaE…7d83DD) still returned true on 2026-10-07. L2BEAT's edgeX page tracks that V1 deployment, so its risk ratings describe the frozen system rather than V2. edgeX's live V2 market API (edgex-prod-v2.edgex.exchange) listed 183 contracts, all open for trading, on 2026-10-07; this is a standing disclosure for anyone with history on V1, not an outage of the live venue. ( L2BEAT )

⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.

Comparison · By · Updated 2026-10-07

Aster vs edgeX (2026): Published vs App-Only Fees

Both are order-book perp DEXs with live tokens and large market lists, and that is where the symmetry ends. Aster publishes its fee schedule, its funding intervals through the API, and a points programme with a documented airdrop link. edgeX's documentation, on the verification date, carried no fee schedule and no points programme; its rates are visible only after sign-in. This page compares what both publish and says plainly where one does not.

Verdict

Aster can be priced before you deposit; edgeX cannot. Aster's 0% maker and published taker rates set a number; edgeX sets none, so no honest comparison of cost exists. On tokens, both are live: $ASTER with a published airdrop category and an active Stage 6, EDGE with an airdrop already executed and a buyback-burn but no current programme documented. Pick Aster if verifiable cost or an active points path matters; treat edgeX as a venue you must open to price.

At a glance

Aster versus edgeX, compared across key dimensions
Aster edgeX
Architecture Aster Chain L1 · order book Order book · settles to Ethereum
Custody Self-custody Self-custody (per docs)
KYC None Not stated
Base perp fees 0.04% (crypto) / 0.1% (Group B) / 0.0125% (RWA) / 0% t/m Not published / Not published t/m
Funding 8h default; 1h, 2h, 4h or 8h per symbol via the API Hourly per docs; interval set per market
Token $ASTER · live (TGE claim window 17 Sep – 17 Oct 2025) EDGE · live
Points programme Active · Aster Convergence: Stage 6 None documented
Operating entity / access US, Canada, UK among 11 barred (Terms) US and Ontario barred (app Terms)

facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-aster/ , /aster/fees/ , /eu/aster/ , /edgex/ , /edgex/fees/ , /airdrops/ .

Fees

Aster — Order-book maker/taker; 0% maker on every perp category, taker by category: Crypto General (USDT- or USD1-quoted) 0.04%, Group B 0.1%, RWA 0.0125%; Shield Mode and 1001x use their own fee rules. Base tier: 0.04% (crypto) / 0.1% (Group B) / 0.0125% (RWA) taker, 0% maker. Taker numeric uses Crypto General pairs (USDT- or USD1-quoted); RWA pairs trade at 0.0125% and Group B pairs at 0.1% — pick per category when calculating. Discounts: 5% off when fees are paid in ASTER; spot VIP grid 4.0→2.3 bps taker by 14-day volume and ASTER held; market-maker rebates to −0.5 bps; referral rebate up to 10% (referrer-configured split, not guaranteed). 0% maker means maker-heavy flow pays nothing — and generates no referral commission. Schedule verified 2026-09-29 on /aster/fees/.

edgeX — Order-book with daily 30-day volume tiers. Base tier: Not published taker, Not published maker. edgeX's docs publish no fee schedule — tier rates are visible only inside the app. Its public metadata API lists a defaultTakerFeeRate of 0.00045 and defaultMakerFeeRate of 0.0004 on every contract, but the docs never define "default", so we do not calculate with it. Discounts: Not published. The schedule being app-only means you cannot compare edgeX on price before signing up. We do not estimate it. Schedule verified 2026-09-28 on /edgex/fees/.

Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all 20 venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.

Markets they share

In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-10-07, Aster lists 573 perp markets and edgeX lists 181; 139 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.

Token and points

Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.

Where Aster wins

Transparency and the points path. The fee grid, the per-symbol funding intervals and the Stage 6 mechanics are all on docs pages this site has read and dated, and the tokenomics publish a 53.5% Airdrop category even though Stage 6's share is not stated. Aster also lists more perp markets than edgeX in this site's join.

Where edgeX wins

A verified product detail and a completed distribution. edgeX's docs describe sub-accounts that aggregate into one fee tier, recorded on this site's Hyperliquid vs edgeX page; their gas-cover line names only V1, frozen since 2026-08-14 per L2BEAT (checked 2026-10-07). Its EDGE token has already been airdropped to eligible users and is bought back and burned from revenue, so the token side is settled rather than pending. None of that tells you what a trade costs.

What this site could not verify

Which to pick

If you want to know your cost before funding an account, or you want a running points programme with a documented airdrop link, Aster. If you already trade on edgeX and can see its schedule, compare it against Aster's published rates yourself; this site will not estimate an unpublished one. The Aster review and the edgeX review carry the full mechanics of each venue.

Related comparisons

FAQ

Why is there no edgeX fee figure?

Because edgeX does not publish one. Its rates are shown inside the app after sign-in, and a number this site has not read on an official page does not get printed.

Does edgeX still have a points programme?

Not in the documentation read on the verification date. Its token page records a historical "Pre TGE Season" as an allocation label only, and EDGE has already been distributed.

Is Aster's airdrop guaranteed?

Its docs commit Stage 6 points to an $ASTER airdrop share, but the conversion ratio, Stage 6's share of the allocation and the end date are unpublished. The tracker keeps the row dated and never prices a point.

Open Aster → (opens in a new tab)

affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology