Skip to content

⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.

Review · By · Updated 2026-09-21

GRVT Review 2026: Hybrid Perp DEX on a ZKsync Validium

Facts verified against GRVT's help centre, its User Agreement of 14 September 2026, its litepaper and its public instrument API on 2026-09-21. Where those sources are silent — the size of the insurance fund, the interest rate on borrowed USDT, the liquidation fee — this page says so rather than filling the gap.

ZKsync validium194 USDT perpsStocks, ETFs, commodities, pre-IPOMaker rebate from tier 1GRVT token liveIdentity verification required

Verdict

A centralised exchange's order book with self-custody underneath, sold to traders who accept identity checks in exchange for the widest shelf in this category. GRVT matches trades off-chain, settles them on its own ZKsync-stack validium, and lets only your key move your funds. The instrument list runs to 194 USDT-margined perps and reaches single stocks, ETFs, gold, oil and pre-IPO names; makers are paid a rebate from the first fee tier and takers start at 0.045%. Against that: every account passes identity verification, the operator named in the User Agreement is a Panama company that says it is not licensed by any Panamanian regulator, liquidation is all-or-nothing into an insurance fund of unpublished size, and withdrawals can carry a socialised-loss haircut if that fund goes into deficit. The United States, Singapore, Hong Kong and Canada are on the banned list.

What GRVT is

The help centre's Getting Started page calls GRVT "a regulated self-custodial DEX, with funds held on blockchain-secured smart contracts", built "on ZKsync for the benefits of scalability, low latency, high throughput and zero gas trading" and using "ZKsync's Validium technology to offer trading privacy". The architecture page is franker about the split: "a hybrid architecture that is made up of both on-chain and off-chain systems", with "efficient off-chain trade matching with on-chain settlement and margin management" and "on-chain privacy via zk-proof validium". The litepaper adds that "validity proofs settle on Ethereum L1", that "individual order and position data is not broadcast to the public chain", and that "Grvt does not offer anonymity or untraceable transfers". Audits are attributed to "Spearbit DAO and NCC Group". The User Agreement (last updated 14 September 2026) names one company: "Albatross Group Overseas S.A., a company incorporated in the Republic of Panama", which "operates and owns the centralised aspects of this Platform, including the Central Limit Order Book". The same document states that this entity "is not licensed, approved or regulated by the Superintendence of Capital Markets or the Superintendence of Banks of Panama, or any other regulatory authority in Panama, in any capacity"; the agreement is governed by "the laws of Singapore" and disputes go to arbitration at the Singapore International Arbitration Centre. Which regulator, if any, the "regulated" wording on the Getting Started page refers to is not stated on the pages read.

Custody: your key, their rails

Self-custody here means a signing key, not an on-chain order book. "Your funds sit in smart contracts on-chain that open only when your key signs. Grvt never holds your key." Every account registers two credentials: an email with password or Google/Microsoft login for "non-trading features", and a SecureKey — "Ethereum public/private key pairs, where only the user has access to the private keys" — that must sign "any action that could alter asset ownership". The SecureKey can be an external wallet such as MetaMask, or an embedded wallet created from your email and secured by Privy, whose private key "is generated inside a secure, hardware-isolated environment (a TEE) and immediately split into separate shares using Shamir's Secret Sharing", exportable at any time. The boundary the docs draw is explicit: GRVT can pause trading and sequence orders, but "nothing Grvt controls can move" your funds. One newer wrinkle: under the Yield Layer, "the majority of Grvt's TVL moves into the L1 DeFi Vault" and is deployed to "Aave V3 - USDT", with a two-hour queue for very large Ethereum withdrawals when the L2 operational balance runs low.

Markets: 194 perps, from BTC to pre-IPO stock

The public instrument API returned 194 active perpetuals on 2026-09-21, every one quoted in USDT and every one available on both an order-book and an RFQ venue. The list mixes crypto majors and alts with single stocks (AAPL, TSLA, NVDA, MSTR, HOOD), ETFs (SPY, QQQ, IWM), metals and energy (XAU, XAG, XPT, XPD, CL, NATGAS, COPPER) and pre-IPO names (OPENAI, ANTHROPIC, SPACEX). Funding settles every 8 hours on 125 of those markets and every 4 hours on 69; the funding page also allows 1-hour schedules. Minimum order value is $5 on most instruments, $20 on ETH and $100 on BTC. Perps on traditional assets carry their own pricing rules: when the underlying market is closed "the last price is smoothed using an EWMA to provide a stable indicative mark", and corporate events such as splits are handled by market notice. Three contracts have been delisted so far — AI16Z (6 November 2025), MNT (2 December 2025) and VINE (28 April 2026) — with a 24-hour reduce-only window before each. Spot trading is live too, with market, limit and scale orders and a $5 minimum order value. GRVT's own token also trades as a perp on other venues; that market has its own page here. This site's stock perps and commodity perps indexes cover the Hyperliquid side of the same trade.

Fees at a glance

Nine tiers, set by 30-day trading volume and updated "daily at 8 am UTC". Level 1 pays makers 0.0001% and charges takers 0.045%; Level 9, at $1 billion of 30-day volume, is −0.003% and 0.024%. Spot runs its own ladder from 0.06% maker and 0.085% taker down to 0% and 0.025%. Locking GRVT tokens in the Membership Program moves an account up the ladder: 2,500 tokens for a month reach Level 2, 10,000 for three months Level 3, 50,000 for six months Level 4. Multi-Asset Margin adds a repayment fee when USDC is converted to clear a USDT debt: 0.1% if you do it yourself, 0.125% when the system does it, 0.25% in a liquidation. The fees page has every table; the fee comparison places GRVT beside twelve venues.

Collateral, margin and leverage

Perps settle in USDT. Single-Asset Mode counts USDT only; Multi-Asset Margin counts USDT at 99.8% and USDC at 99.5% of value and "automatically borrows USDT for you" when fees, funding or losses push the USDT balance negative, charging "hourly interest on the borrowed amount" at a rate the guide does not state. A margin call arrives when the maintenance margin ratio reaches 90%; liquidation starts at 100%. Funds live in a funding account for deposits and withdrawals and one or more trading accounts, each created with a margin type, so isolated risk is a matter of separate accounts as well as per-position isolated margin. Leverage is a per-instrument setting from 1x to 50x, capped by position-size tiers: BTC and ETH allow 50x up to a $600,000 position and step down to 1x above $101 million; alts allow 50x only up to $40,000; silver, platinum and palladium start at 25x; single stocks such as TSLA and HOOD start at 10x up to $10,000. Every instrument also carries an absolute maximum position — 1,000 BTC, 30,000 ETH, 300,000 SOL — regardless of balance.

Liquidation, the insurance fund and socialised losses

"Currently, Grvt utilizes a full liquidation model": once cross-account equity falls below the cross maintenance requirement, "the entire cross positions and balance are liquidated" and transferred to the insurance fund at the bankruptcy price; an isolated position is closed whole and "the allocated margin is lost". The fund "closes the positions and retains any remaining profit or loss". Its size is not published on the pages read. If it goes into deficit, "GRVT applies Socialized Loss charge to all withdrawals": a haircut equal to the deficit divided by total client equity, charged only to users who withdraw during the deficit period, and lifted once the fund is recapitalised. The User Agreement defines a Liquidation Fee "as set out in the Fee Schedule", but the fee-model page publishes no rate for it.

Token, airdrop and membership

$GRVT launched on 30 July 2026 as "an ERC-20 token on Ethereum L1 with a fixed, hard-capped supply" and "no inflation, no minting authority, and no programmatic emission". The community airdrop was fixed at 280,000,000 tokens across two points seasons; after optional deferral multipliers, "participants collectively held 444,700,000 post-multiplier shares", worth "approximately 0.6296 $GRVT" each, released in tranches over 12 months with a 30-day claim window per tranche. Registration closed on 27 July 2026 and unregistered allocations were forfeited. The token "confers no equity, no share of revenue or profit, and no claim on distributions"; its stated use is membership, with fee-tier upgrades and access to the GLP market-making vault at the Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers. A points programme still counts perp trading; what points earned after the token launch become is not stated on the pages read. A MiCAR crypto-asset white paper for GRVT, published 2 September 2026, lists the Netherlands as home Member State and the AFM as competent authority.

Risks

  • Off-chain matching. The order book is owned and operated by the company; only custody and settlement are on-chain, and order data is private by design.
  • Full liquidation. There is no partial unwind: a breach closes the whole cross account or the whole isolated position at the bankruptcy price.
  • Socialised losses on withdrawal. An insurance-fund deficit becomes a haircut on every withdrawal until the fund recovers, and the fund's size is unpublished.
  • Exchange reserves in DeFi. The Yield Layer deploys most of the platform's TVL to Aave V3; the docs describe approval controls and an emergency pause, but the exposure is real.
  • Unlicensed operator, Singapore arbitration. The User Agreement names a Panama company that disclaims any Panamanian licence, and routes disputes to SIAC.
  • Identity data. Verification is mandatory before an account is registered, and the AML page describes screening and monitoring; a self-custodial key does not make the account anonymous.
  • Borrowing and de-peg in Multi-Asset Margin. Interest accrues hourly on auto-borrowed USDT and a stablecoin de-peg cuts collateral value; the guide's own advice is to "watch your MMR, not just your open positions".
  • Access. Eighteen banned jurisdictions including the United States, Singapore, Hong Kong and Canada. Confirm eligibility before depositing; this site does not cover access workarounds.

Who GRVT suits — and who it doesn't

It suits a trader outside the banned list who wants stock, ETF, commodity and pre-IPO perps beside crypto in one USDT account, is paid to make from the first tier, and is comfortable with identity verification and an off-chain book as the price of that shelf. It does not suit anyone who trades perp DEXs to avoid KYC, anyone in the US, Singapore, Hong Kong or Canada, or a trader who needs partial liquidation and a published insurance-fund balance.

Getting started

  • How to start on GRVT — restricted-list and identity checks, email plus SecureKey sign-up, USDT deposits over the native bridge or the Rhino multichain bridge, funding vs trading accounts, leverage per instrument, a first order, and withdrawal fees and timings.
  • Fees explained — the nine perp tiers, the spot ladder, membership tiers that move you up the ladder, Multi-Asset Margin repayment fees, funding mechanics, and deposit and withdrawal charges.

How GRVT compares

FAQ

Is GRVT available in my country?
Its Restricted Jurisdictions page (3 August 2026) bans use by anyone "residing, located, incorporated or otherwise established" in the United States and its territories, Singapore, Hong Kong, North Korea, Iran, Myanmar, Belarus, Cuba, the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhya regions, Sevastopol, Afghanistan, Canada, Libya, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Syria, and reserves the right to amend the list "in the sole and absolute discretion of the Company". This site does not cover access workarounds.
Is GRVT really a DEX?
It calls itself a hybrid. The help centre describes "efficient off-chain trade matching with on-chain settlement and margin management" and the User Agreement names Albatross Group Overseas S.A. as the entity that "operates and owns the centralised aspects of this Platform, including the Central Limit Order Book". What is on-chain is custody and settlement: funds sit in smart contracts that release only against your SecureKey signature, and validity proofs settle to Ethereum.
Do I need KYC?
Yes. Clause 4.3 of the User Agreement states that "you will need to comply with our identity verification procedures before you are permitted to open and register an Account and access and use the Services", and the AML/ATF page describes sanctions screening and continuous monitoring. Every account also registers an email as its Web2 credential alongside the SecureKey.
Does GRVT have a token?
Yes. $GRVT is "an ERC-20 token on Ethereum L1 with a fixed, hard-capped supply"; the Token Generation Event was on 30 July 2026, with a 280,000,000-token community airdrop released in tranches over 12 months. The litepaper calls it "a utility and membership instrument" that "confers no equity, no share of revenue or profit". Locking it in the Membership Program moves your fee tier up by one to three levels. The tracker keeps the row dated.
What does it cost to move money in and out?
Deposits carry no GRVT fee beyond network gas. Withdrawals cost 2 USDT over the Ethereum bridge and 1 USDT plus the bridge partner's gas over Arbitrum One, Base, BNB Smart Chain, Tron, KAIA and Solana (fees page, 28 July 2026). Multichain withdrawals are quoted at about 5 minutes; Ethereum withdrawals at about 8 hours, because they wait for GRVT's roll-up to Layer 1.
Open GRVT → (opens in a new tab)

official site — no referral relationship · methodology