⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.
Lighter vs ApeX Omni (2026): Zero Fees vs 100x
Both are order-book perp venues with a live token, and they differ on the two things most traders compare first: what a trade costs and where the money sits. Lighter is a zero-knowledge rollup on Ethereum whose Standard accounts pay nothing on either side. ApeX Omni matches orders off-chain and settles on zkLink Nova, charges from 0.050% taker at its first fee level, and publishes a per-contract leverage cap that reaches 100x on BTC and ETH. Both list stock and commodity perps beside crypto.
Verdict
Lighter on cost and custody; ApeX on published leverage and fee routes. A Standard account on Lighter pays 0% maker and 0% taker and settles through validity proofs to Ethereum. ApeX's ladder only reaches zero maker for the largest accounts, and its settlement layer is the one L2BEAT marks CRITICAL: contracts upgradeable by a single key with no exit window. What ApeX offers in return is a leverage cap stated for every contract, 100x on the two majors, and a staking route to lower fees.
At a glance
| Lighter | ApeX Omni | |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | zk-rollup on Ethereum | Off-chain order book · zkLink Nova settlement |
| Custody | Non-custodial (rollup) | Wallet or email account; zkLink contracts L2BEAT rates CRITICAL (EOA-upgradeable, no exit window) |
| KYC | Not stated | No identity step in onboarding docs; Terms bar the US + sanctioned list |
| Base perp fees | 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) / 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) t/m WINNER | 0.050% → 0.025% (by tier) / 0.020% → 0% (by tier) t/m |
| Funding | 1h period · P2P | Hourly · docs cap ±0.05% per hour |
| Token | LIT · live | APEX · live |
| Points programme | Unverified · Points Season 2 | Ended |
facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-lighter/ , /lighter/fees/ , /apex/ , /apex/how-to-start/ , /apex/fees/ , /airdrops/ .
Fees
Lighter — Order-book; zero-fee Standard accounts, paid Premium tier for lower latency, Plus tier for higher rate limits. Base tier: 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) taker, 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) maker. Numerics reflect Standard accounts (zero-fee); Premium trades 0.0040%/0.0280% with a LIT-staking discount grid. Discounts: LIT staking reduces Premium rates on a published grid. Standard’s trade-off is latency (300ms taker) and API rate limits, not hidden fees or position caps; LIT is live (staking discounts the Premium grid) and the points program remains a separate, conversion-undocumented track. Schedule verified 2026-09-16 on /lighter/fees/.
ApeX Omni — Order-book maker/taker; seven VIP levels set daily by 14-day volume or APEX/esAPEX staked. Base tier: 0.050% → 0.025% (by tier) taker, 0.020% → 0% (by tier) maker. Numerics are Level 1; levels are recalculated daily from 14-day Omni Perps volume or APEX/esAPEX staked (staking counts up to Level 4 only). Discounts: Levels 2–7 take taker from 0.045% to 0.025% and maker from 0.015% to 0% (zero maker from $500m of 14-day volume); referral discounts do not stack with VIP levels. Cross margin only, on a settlement layer (zkLink Nova) L2BEAT rates CRITICAL; the docs cap hourly funding at ±0.05% but the symbols API shows wider per-contract fundingMaxRate values on some long-tail markets. Schedule verified 2026-09-24 on /apex/fees/.
Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all 14 venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.
Markets they share
In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-09-24, Lighter lists 210 perp markets and ApeX Omni lists 127; 105 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.
Token and points
- Lighter: LIT · live. Points: Unverified — Points Season 2; Retail track: 200,000 points/week, distributed Fridays for Wednesday – Tuesday activity. The docs do not state what points redeem for, and no points-to-LIT conversion is documented. LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue. The market-makers page says "Points Season 2 ended on December 26th 2025"; the retail page and the overview still describe weekly Season 2 distribution and have not been updated with an end date. The docs do not say whether the retail track continues, so the status stays unverified until they do.
- ApeX Omni: APEX · live. Points: Ended . The season page says "Ape Season 1 has officially concluded" and "Ape Season 2 is coming soon", with no date and no statement of what Ape Points convert to. APEX is live; Staking 4.0 pays rewards in APEX "funded by weekly buybacks from trading fee revenue". A separate ApeX Social points system (ASPs, 40% of fees paid as points, capped at 300 per 7-day epoch, spent on mystery boxes) is still documented; it pays bonuses and prizes, not a token allocation.
Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.
Where Lighter wins
Fees and settlement. Standard accounts pay nothing on every market, with a paid Premium tier only for latency-sensitive flow; there is no ladder to climb. Funds settle on a rollup that posts validity proofs to Ethereum, rather than on a chain whose risk tracker flags instant, single-key upgrades. LIT is live. Lighter's docs describe wallet-based onboarding and state no identity step — recorded as unverified rather than promised.
Where ApeX Omni wins
Published leverage. ApeX's symbols API states a cap for every contract, 100x on BTC and ETH and 50x on most others, where Lighter's market list, as this site reads it, publishes none. Its stock, index and commodity perps sit in a separate TradFi account that trades 24/5 on Chainlink prices; Lighter lists more stock-tagged markets, so this is a structure difference, not a breadth one. Levels are set daily by 14-day volume or by APEX and esAPEX staked, so a holder can buy a lower rate without the volume. APEX is live, and staking rewards are paid from weekly buybacks. The Hyperliquid vs ApeX page covers the custody question in detail.
What this site could not verify
- Lighter: KYC and access rules are not stated in the docs this site verified.
- Lighter: Whether Points Season 2 is still running: the market-makers page says it ended on 2025-12-26, the retail page has not been updated.
- Lighter: What points redeem for — no points-to-LIT conversion is documented.
- ApeX Omni: The liquidation fee rate and the size of any backstop — the liquidation fee funds the Protocol Vault, but no page read on 2026-09-24 states the rate.
- ApeX Omni: What the symbols API field fundingMaxRate means — it reads wider than the documented ±0.05% cap on 39 contracts and the docs do not define it.
- ApeX Omni: What Ape Points convert to, and when Ape Season 2 starts — the season page says only "coming soon".
Which to pick
For the lowest cost, the wider stock shelf and Ethereum-anchored settlement, Lighter. For a published 100x cap on the majors or a staking route to lower fees, and after reading the L2BEAT entry and sizing the balance kept on the venue for it, ApeX Omni. ApeX runs cross margin only within each trading account. Both bar the United States. The Lighter review and the ApeX Omni review carry the detail behind each cell.
Related comparisons
- Lighter vs Aster
- Lighter vs dYdX
- Lighter vs edgeX
- Lighter vs Paradex
- Lighter vs Extended
- Lighter vs Pacifica
- Lighter vs GRVT
- Lighter vs Variational
- Hyperliquid vs Lighter
- Hyperliquid vs ApeX Omni
FAQ
How far apart are the fees?
At the entry level, all of ApeX's taker fee: Lighter Standard charges 0% and ApeX Level 1 charges 0.050% taker and 0.020% maker. ApeX's lowest taker rate, 0.025%, needs Level 7, which is reached by 14-day volume only.
Which one is safer to hold a balance on?
On the evidence this site has, Lighter: its settlement rolls up to Ethereum with validity proofs. ApeX settles on zkLink Nova, which L2BEAT rates CRITICAL for single-key upgrades with no delay and for unverified contracts. ApeX documents a force-withdrawal route, which covers a halted operator, not a hostile upgrade.
Do they list the same markets?
Largely. The shared-markets count above comes from this site's coverage snapshot, which reads both venues' public market lists; Lighter's list is the longer of the two, including more stock-tagged contracts.
affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology