⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.
Lighter vs Paradex (2026): Two Zero-Fee Headlines
Two venues, two zero-fee headlines, two different asterisks. Lighter's zero applies to its Standard accounts, with a paid Premium tier for traders who need lower latency. Paradex's zero applies to Retail orders, with a published Pro ladder for API flow. Both run weekly points programmes and both have live tokens. The differences are in what each zero excludes and what each venue shows the market.
Verdict
Equal on the headline, different on the exclusions. Lighter's exclusion is latency: pay nothing and accept the Standard tier's limits, or pay a published Premium rate. Paradex's exclusion is classification: Retail orders trade free, and API orders pay a published Pro ladder. Paradex adds hidden positions and an options surface; Lighter adds a public Ethereum rollup and a published points pool. Neither documents what its points convert to.
At a glance
| Lighter | Paradex | |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | zk-rollup on Ethereum | Starknet appchain |
| Custody | Non-custodial (rollup) | Self-custody (Starknet) |
| Base perp fees | 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) / 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) t/m | 0% (retail) / 0.045% → 0.035% (Pro, by 14-day volume) / 0% (retail) / 0.003% (Pro) t/m |
| Token | LIT · live | $DIME · live (fees payable in DIME at a flat 40% discount; fee-revenue buybacks) |
| Points programme | Unverified · Points Season 2 | Active · XP Season 3 |
facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-lighter/ , /lighter/fees/ , /compare/hyperliquid-vs-paradex/ , /paradex/fees/ , /airdrops/ .
Fees
Lighter — Order-book; zero-fee Standard accounts, paid Premium tier for higher limits. Base tier: 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) taker, 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) maker. Numerics reflect Standard accounts (zero-fee); Premium trades 0.0040%/0.0280% with a LIT-staking discount grid. Discounts: LIT staking reduces Premium rates on a published grid. Standard’s trade-off is latency (300ms taker) and API rate limits, not hidden fees or position caps; LIT is live (staking discounts the Premium grid) and the points program remains a separate, conversion-undocumented track. Schedule verified 2026-07-31 on /lighter/fees/.
Paradex — Zero-fee Retail orders (web app or interactive-token API); Pro orders (standard API) pay a flat maker fee and a 14-day-volume taker ladder. Base tier: 0% (retail) / 0.045% → 0.035% (Pro, by 14-day volume) taker, 0% (retail) / 0.003% (Pro) maker. The zeros describe RETAIL orders. Pro orders pay 0.003% maker and 0.045% taker at the base tier (floor 0.0175% after discounts) — use those for API flow. Discounts: Pro taker: pay fees in DIME for a flat 40% off; stake DIME for a further tiered discount up to 30%; floor 0.0175%. The headline zero covers Retail-classified orders only; an account that exceeds Retail rate limits switches to Pro behaviour and the ladder applies. Schedule verified 2026-09-10 on /paradex/fees/.
Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all twelve venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.
Markets they share
In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-09-02, Lighter lists 214 perp markets and Paradex lists 62; 59 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.
Token and points
- Lighter: LIT · live. Points: Unverified — Points Season 2; Retail track: 200,000 points/week, distributed Fridays for Wednesday – Tuesday activity. The docs do not state what points redeem for, and no points-to-LIT conversion is documented. LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue. The market-makers page says "Points Season 2 ended on December 26th 2025"; the retail page and the overview still describe weekly Season 2 distribution and have not been updated with an end date. The docs do not say whether the retail track continues, so the status stays unverified until they do.
- Paradex: $DIME · live (fees payable in DIME at a flat 40% discount; fee-revenue buybacks). Points: Active — XP Season 3; 4,000,000 XP/week, distributed every Wednesday; 1 Feb 2026 – TBD. No XP-to-token conversion statement in the docs. Pre Season + Season 1 distributed ~100M XP, Season 2 ~236M XP.
Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.
Where Lighter wins
The paid tier is cheaper. Lighter's Premium taker rate is below Paradex's base Pro taker rate, and its maker rate is level with Paradex's flat Pro maker fee; both venues publish their paid tiers. Lighter's funding period and weekly retail pool are also stated in its docs.
Where Paradex wins
Product surface and privacy: perps, options and spot on one Starknet appchain, with positions hidden from the public book. Its token utility is live and documented, with fees payable in DIME at a flat 40% discount and buybacks from net revenue, and XP Season 3 has a published weekly pool and start date. On what XP becomes, its docs are as silent as Lighter's.
What this site could not verify
- Lighter: KYC and access rules are not stated in the docs this site verified.
- Lighter: Whether Points Season 2 is still running: the market-makers page says it ended on 2025-12-26, the retail page has not been updated.
- Lighter: What points redeem for — no points-to-LIT conversion is documented.
- Paradex: KYC rules and restricted jurisdictions — not stated in the docs read on 2026-09-10.
- Paradex: What XP converts to — no XP-to-token statement in the docs.
Which to pick
If you trade retail size and want privacy or options, Paradex offers both at zero fee. If you trade size through an API, both paid tiers are published: compare Lighter's Premium grid with Paradex's Pro ladder and DIME discounts on the fee pages. On points, both programmes are running on paper; Lighter's status is unverified in its own docs and Paradex's is live with no conversion statement, so neither is a reason to choose. See the Lighter review and Hyperliquid vs Paradex for the detail behind each cell.
Related comparisons
- Lighter vs Aster
- Lighter vs dYdX
- Lighter vs edgeX
- Lighter vs Extended
- Lighter vs Pacifica
- Hyperliquid vs Lighter
- Hyperliquid vs Paradex
FAQ
Are both really zero fee?
For the accounts each headline covers, yes: Lighter's Standard tier and Paradex's retail accounts. Lighter's Premium tier and Paradex's Pro tier are not zero; both paid tiers are published.
Do XP or Lighter points convert to a token?
Neither venue's docs say so. Paradex's DIME and Lighter's LIT are both live, but no points-to-token conversion is documented on either side.
Can I see Paradex positions on-chain?
No; hiding positions is a stated design choice. Lighter's book is public. Which you prefer is a matter of strategy, not a safety ranking.
affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology