⚠︎ Risk warning: leveraged derivatives on unregulated platforms — you can lose everything you deposit. Not investment advice.
Lighter vs edgeX (2026): Published Zero vs Unpublished
This comparison is mostly about what can be checked. Lighter publishes its fee grid, its funding period and its points cadence. edgeX publishes a token page and a documentation set that, at the time of verification, carried no fee schedule and no points programme; rates are visible only after you sign in. Where edgeX does not publish, this page says so rather than filling the gap.
Verdict
Lighter can be evaluated before you deposit; edgeX cannot, on price. Lighter's Standard accounts are 0% both sides in a published grid. edgeX's fees are app-only, so no honest number exists to set beside that zero. edgeX does have a live token, EDGE, with an airdrop already executed and a buyback-burn. Lighter's LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue too; what Lighter's docs do not say is what its points become. Pick Lighter if verifiable cost matters; treat edgeX as a venue you must open an account on to price. The Lighter review and the edgeX review carry the full mechanics of each venue.
At a glance
| Lighter | edgeX | |
|---|---|---|
| Architecture | zk-rollup on Ethereum | Order book · settles to Ethereum |
| Custody | Non-custodial (rollup) | Self-custody (per docs) |
| KYC | Not stated | Not stated |
| Base perp fees | 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) / 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) t/m | Not published / Not published t/m |
| Funding | 1h period · P2P | Hourly per docs; interval set per market |
| Token | LIT · live | EDGE · live |
| Points programme | Unverified · Points Season 2 | None documented |
| Operating entity / access | US, Canada, UK among 14 barred (Terms) | US and Ontario barred (app Terms) |
facts verified · each venue's official docs Every cell restates a claim on one of this site's pages: /compare/hyperliquid-vs-lighter/ , /lighter/fees/ , /eu/lighter/ , /edgex/ , /edgex/fees/ , /airdrops/ .
Fees
Lighter — Order-book; zero-fee Standard accounts, paid Premium tier for lower latency, Plus tier for higher rate limits. Base tier: 0% (Standard) / 0.0280% (Premium) taker, 0% (Standard) / 0.0040% (Premium) maker. Numerics reflect Standard accounts (zero-fee); Premium trades 0.0040%/0.0280% with a LIT-staking discount grid. Discounts: LIT staking reduces Premium rates on a published grid. Standard’s trade-off is latency (300ms taker) and API rate limits rather than fees, except TWAP orders, which carry a 1 bp fee on Standard per the API docs; LIT is live (staking discounts the Premium grid) and the points program remains a separate, conversion-undocumented track. Schedule verified 2026-09-16 on /lighter/fees/.
edgeX — Order-book with daily 30-day volume tiers. Base tier: Not published taker, Not published maker. edgeX's docs publish no fee schedule — tier rates are visible only inside the app. Its public metadata API lists a defaultTakerFeeRate of 0.00045 and defaultMakerFeeRate of 0.0004 on every contract, but the docs never define "default", so we do not calculate with it. Discounts: Not published. The schedule being app-only means you cannot compare edgeX on price before signing up. We do not estimate it. Schedule verified 2026-09-28 on /edgex/fees/.
Base-tier rates answer one narrow question — what a small taker order costs on day one. Your maker/taker mix, volume tier and holding period decide the real number; the fee comparison lays all 20 venues side by side and the execution-cost tool adds live slippage on top.
Markets they share
In this site's market join, snapshot 2026-10-07, Lighter lists 209 perp markets and edgeX lists 181; 100 appear on both. The market index shows every asset with the venues that list it and each venue's published leverage, and the join is refreshed weekly by a fail-closed pipeline. Breadth is not depth: a listing says nothing about how much size a book absorbs, which the execution-cost tool measures live where a venue publishes its order book.
Token and points
- Lighter: LIT · live. Points: Unverified — Points Season 2; Retail track: 200,000 points/week, distributed Fridays for Wednesday – Tuesday activity. The docs do not state what points redeem for, and no points-to-LIT conversion is documented. LIT is live and bought back from fee revenue. The market-makers page says "Points Season 2 ended on December 26th 2025"; the retail page and the overview still describe weekly Season 2 distribution and have not been updated with an end date. The docs do not say whether the retail track continues, so the status stays unverified until they do. Separately, the docs carry a "Lighter on Robinhood Chain Points" programme (terms effective 10 August 2026, weekly drops from Friday 21 August) whose page does not mention LIT; the 11 million LIT conversion pool for it is stated by Robinhood, not by Lighter's docs.
- edgeX: EDGE · live. Points: None documented . No points programme is described in the documentation read (50 pages). The EDGE token page allocates 5% of supply to a "Pre TGE Season" and 25% to a genesis distribution; the tokenomics page records that EDGE was airdropped to eligible users and is bought back and burned from revenue. edgeX’s named docs host did not resolve on the verification date; the GitBook the site has always used for edgeX (linked from edgeX’s own official-links page) was read instead. The app advertised a “TradFi Trading Season” fee-rebate promotion and a “Trade to EARN” page on 2026-09-09; neither is a points programme described in the docs.
Both rows are restated from the points & airdrop tracker, which is re-read against each venue's docs on a 45-day cadence and never prices a point.
Where Lighter wins
Transparency and cost: a published zero-fee Standard tier, a published Premium grid with a LIT-staking discount, an hourly peer-to-peer funding period, and a documented weekly points pool, though its docs disagree on whether Season 2 has ended. Everything a reader needs to decide is on a docs page this site has read and dated.
Where edgeX wins
Token clarity in one respect: EDGE is live, was airdropped to eligible users, and is bought back and burned from revenue, all stated on edgeX's own token page. Its documentation also describes sub-accounts that aggregate into one fee tier, verified on this site's Hyperliquid vs edgeX page; its gas-cover line names only V1, frozen since 2026-08-14 per L2BEAT (checked 2026-10-07). None of that tells you what a trade costs.
What this site could not verify
- Lighter: KYC — no statement either way in the docs this site verified.
- Lighter: Whether Points Season 2 is still running: the market-makers page says it ended on 2025-12-26, the retail page has not been updated.
- Lighter: What points redeem for — no points-to-LIT conversion is documented.
- edgeX: The fee schedule — edgeX does not publish rates, so nothing here estimates them.
- edgeX: KYC — the docs make no statement either way.
- edgeX: Leverage caps — a per-market setting the docs give by formula only.
- edgeX: The operator-independent withdrawal path — documented, not tested by this site.
Which to pick
If you want to know the cost of a fill before funding an account, Lighter. If you already trade on edgeX and can see its schedule, compare it against Lighter's zero yourself; this site will not estimate an unpublished rate. On points, Lighter's Season 2 is unverified in status and edgeX documents no programme at all, so neither should drive the decision.
Related comparisons
- Lighter vs Aster
- Lighter vs dYdX
- Lighter vs Paradex
- Lighter vs Extended
- Lighter vs Pacifica
- Lighter vs GRVT
- Lighter vs Variational
- Lighter vs ApeX Omni
- Lighter vs SoDEX
- Lighter vs Veranta
- Lighter vs Nado
- Lighter vs Vest Markets
- Lighter vs Derive
- Lighter vs Ondo Perps
- Hyperliquid vs Lighter
- Hyperliquid vs edgeX
FAQ
Why is there no edgeX fee figure here?
Because edgeX does not publish one. Its rates are shown inside the app after sign-in, and a number this site has not read on an official page does not get printed.
Does edgeX have a points programme?
Not in the documentation read on the verification date. The EDGE token page records a historical "Pre TGE Season" as an allocation label only, and the token has already been airdropped.
Is Lighter's zero fee permanent?
It is the published Standard-tier rate on the verification date. Lighter also runs a paid Premium tier, and any venue can change a schedule; the stamp above shows when this page last checked.
affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you · methodology